ICD-10 Readiness

In October 2015, the health care industry within the United States transformed from the current ICD-9 code set to ICD-10.

What is ICD-10?

The International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision (ICD-10) is a new class of codes used to report medical diagnoses and inpatient hospital procedures.

The change from ICD-9 to ICD-10 increases the number of codes. Diagnoses will increase from approximately 14,000 to 69,000 codes, and will be used by all providers in every health care setting. Procedures will increase from approximately 4,000 to 72,000, and will be used only for hospital claims for inpatient hospital procedures.  ICD-10 procedures will not be used on physician claims.

Why is UH moving to ICD-10?

The transition to ICD-10 is mandated by the federal government and will be required in order for UH to receive reimbursement for the care we provide to our patients. In addition, the increased specificity within ICD-10 will provide enhanced information for measuring healthcare service quality, safety, and efficacy.

What does this mean to you?

To help prepare for this transition, we have developed tools and resources to educate those most affected by the transition including: 

How can you learn more?

Additional communications containing further details and instructions about items including mandatory classes, available tools and resources will be forthcoming.

We encourage you to proactively access UH’s ICD-10 Web Site which contains useful information designed to increase your comprehension.

For questions regarding the ICD-10 implementation at UH, refer to the website, or email ICD-10Readiness@uhhospitals.org